Lapiplasty® Patients Testimonials | Bunion Correction Stories | Patient Stories
"It was so good to be able to get back to doing the things I enjoy without pain!"

Laura A.

Laura, a 38 year-old physical therapy assistant, is on her feet both at work and in her free time. At work she is demonstrating exercises, helping to transfer patients, and training them to walk again. It’s a very physical job. In her free time, she also enjoys physical activities, and is a hiker and runner with a love of the outdoors.

Laura has had bunions as long as she can remember. And, as she got older they started to hurt. In addition to the inconvenience and annoyance of the associated pain, the bony bumps were wearing holes in the sides of her shoes. Laura found that she was going through an additional pair of tennis shoes each year because of this reason. She also found that she couldn’t wear dress shoes or high heels because, with bunions, they just hurt too badly. On a hike in Arizona with her husband, her feet became so painful that she thought she wouldn’t be able to push through and finish the walk.

Laura had seen Dr. Jody McAleer, a podiatrist in nearby Jefferson City, MO for a stress fracture and she also knew him socially. After about two years of dealing with the discomfort, Laura decided to have Dr. McAleer take a look at her bunions. She was motivated to do something when it became impossible to get more than a 5-mile run in, because of the pain in her foot. At the appointment, she saw videos of a new procedure for bunion correction, Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™, and it made a lot of sense to her.

Dr. McAleer explained that the new Lapiplasty® Procedure returns the entire metatarsal bone to its normal alignment and stabilizes the joint, naturally removing the bump and straightening the toe. Unlike a traditional bunion surgery which focuses more on the cosmetic “bump”, Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ addresses the true root cause of bunions by permanently stabilizing the unstable joint at the base of the big toe. The doctor also explained that by using the Lapiplasty® Procedure, he wouldn’t be cutting into the bone and shifting it over – but explained how the procedure works to actually rotate the misaligned bone back into normal 3D alignment. He also explained how the metal plates used to permanently secure the unstable joint would allow her to walk quickly after surgery.

Laura liked the possibility of being able to work almost immediately after the surgical correction and decided to move forward with the procedure in November of 2017. After surgery, she used crutches for a day or two but was then able to walk on her own wearing a surgical boot. She wore the boot for six weeks and was able to move into tennis shoes for the next 6 weeks of her recovery. After 16 weeks of recovery, she was released by her doctor to start running! Since the surgery, she has run her first 5K race ever and has even run a few more of them, now, to date.

Laura said, “It was so good to be able to get back to doing the things I enjoy without pain!”

As a physical therapy assistant, Laura now works with patients who have also had Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction. With her greater understanding of their experience, she feels better able to give the patients she treats confidence that they will continue to improve. For patients with bunions who have not yet had the procedure, she is able to let them know that a new option is available and that she would do it again herself.

According to Laura, “I have no pain in my left bunion, but if it ever begins to give me trouble I will most definitely see Dr. McAleer to have the Lapiplasty® (Procedure) on that foot too.”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

“The surgery was actually a breeze. I was really, really pleased and I am very happy to have a completely straight toe again.”

Nicole D.

Nicole, 60, had lived with bunions on both feet for years. As a floral designer in the retail industry for many years, she had to work long hours standing on her feet – which was very painful. “When your feet hurt, everything hurts,” said Nicole when asked how bunions had affected her life. When she had gotten to the point that both feet not only hurt during the day but also kept her awake at night, she consulted a local doctor about bunion surgery. However, disappointingly, she was told that she would have to be off of her feet completely for 6 weeks following the surgical procedure. As a single person providing for her family, she knew that she simply couldn’t take that much time off from work, so she tried to put the pain aside – utilizing conservative treatment options like foot inserts and comfortable shoes such as clogs – to keep going.

It was a couple years later when Nicole learned of a newer solution for bunion correction: Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ through a dear friend. Discovering that the Lapiplasty® Procedure was designed to help patients get back on their feet quickly, she was intrigued, and felt that this solution could be the right fit for her needs. She decided to travel to see one of the surgeon designers of the Lapiplasty® Procedure, Dr. Paul Dayton of Ankeny, IA.

Dr. Dayton confirmed that Nicole was a good candidate for the procedure and explained to her that the Lapiplasty® Procedure would return the entire metatarsal bone to its normal alignment. And, unlike a traditional 2D osteotomy bunion surgery, which focus more on the cosmetic “bump”, Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ would address the true root cause of her bunions by permanently stabilizing the unstable joint at the base of each big toe after rotating the misaligned bone into normal alignment. The patented, titanium plates would be used to permanently secure the unstable joint and allow her to put weight on their foot shortly after surgery. Nicole elected to move forward with surgery to finally rid herself of the constant pain.

On a Friday in August 2018, Nicole had surgery on her right bunion. Dr. Dayton not only corrected her bunion with the Lapiplasty® Procedure, but also fixed a hammertoe issue which had developed as a direct result of her bunion crossing over and crowding the adjacent toes. She recovered over the weekend in a hotel and put no weight on her foot, but by Monday she was back to the doctor’s office being fitted for a walking boot. Even with three toes corrected during her surgery, Nicole was walking in a boot just three days after surgery. According to Nicole, “The surgery was actually a breeze. I was really, really pleased and I am very happy to have a completely straight toe again.”

Within a couple of weeks of surgery, in her walking boot, Nicole was back to walking her dogs, grocery shopping, antique shopping; pretty much able to do everything that she needed to do for a normal life, except the boot precluded her from driving. Three months out from the surgery, she is back in comfortable shoes and is now able to be as ambulatory as she chooses. “I have to confess that I’m a little vain, so when I go out to dinner, I do get dressed up and wear my heels already for short periods of time,” she laughs. “Overall, I was really surprised with how quickly I was able to get relief from pain after the surgery. I don’t have any complaints and I’m looking forward to my first walking tour of Nashville over the holidays.”

In fact, Nicole is so pleased with her outcome that she plans to revisit Dr. Dayton in January of 2019 to have the bunion on her left foot corrected as well. “It’ll be so good to have my other foot corrected too, after looking at gnarly feet for 20 years,” she jokes.

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you and what level of activity you can expect after healing is complete. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

“I had very little pain from the surgery. Overall it was easier than anticipated."

Jim M.

Jim spent many years on his feet wearing steel-toed boots on concrete floors. He worked in a factory for a while and then for the highway department. Jim, now retired at 64, does a lot of work at home as well. Unfortunately, about five or ten years ago, he was slowed down when he began developing bunions on both feet. The bunion on his right foot was particularly painful.

Although in pain, Jim delayed doing anything about it because he knew several people who had had surgery to treat their bunions and they were off their feet for three months. But, as time went on and his bunions became more painful, he found he could no longer run for exercise and was even limited playing with his grandchildren.

Then, one day, he saw that two local doctors, Dr. Jody McAleer and Dr. William Duke, were offering a seminar on a new procedure to treat bunions; Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction.

Jim attended the seminar and learned about the benefits of Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction, a procedure which treats all three dimensions of the bunion deformity by returning the entire metatarsal bone to its normal alignment and permanently stabilizes the joint – naturally removing the bump and straightening the toe. To Jim, Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction looked like a better fix than a traditional bunionectomy because this surgical procedure addressed the root cause of the bunion rather than just addressing the cosmetic issue, and he decided to have the procedure.

Jim had the Lapiplasty® Procedure in January 2018 and is thrilled with the outcome. He was able to walk the next day after surgery, wearing a boot, and hardly needed any pain medication during his recovery. Today, Jim is able to play with his grandchildren and work around the house pain-free. He is now planning to have the procedure on his other foot sometime soon.

Jim said, “I had very little pain from the surgery. Overall it was easier than anticipated.”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

“The difference between my first bunion surgery and the Lapiplasty® Procedure was like night and day. I was happy with how quickly I was on my feet and fully recovered with the new approach.”

Judy S.

With common risk factors for the development of bunions including genetics as well as wearing tight, restrictive footwear; it was no surprise to Judy (a 65 year-old retiree from Missouri) that she developed bunions on both feet. Not only do bunions run in her family, Judy spent much of her adult life in dress shoes as the owner of a retail-clothing store with long hours on her feet.

For more than thirty years as a successful business owner, office employee, and busy mother, Judy suffered some degree of pain. She tried over-the-counter orthopedic gel pads and inserts in search of relief, but to no avail. As the years progressed and the pain increased, Judy limited her mobility. And, as the bunions became visible though many of her shoes, she began to feel self-conscious about her appearance.

In 2016, a searing pain in the middle toe on her right foot sent her to Dr. Jody McAleer, a podiatrist in nearby Jefferson City, MO. Dr. McAleer diagnosed the pain as a pinched nerve brought about by the bunion. He suggested correcting it through a common, surgical procedure called a Lapidus bunionectomy.

Judy underwent surgery on her right foot in October 2016. She endured a lengthy rehab associated with the traditional Lapidus bunionectomy which required her to be completely non-weight bearing for the first six weeks (no walking at all), before being allowed to move into a walking boot. Full recovery took close to six months.

During one of her follow-up visits with Dr. McAleer, he informed her about a new surgical procedure called Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction that he had learned about and had become trained on. Dr. McAleer felt this new procedure would be a good option for the bunion on her left foot.

Unlike the traditional Lapidus bunionectomy, the Lapiplasty® Procedure would do more by addressing all three-dimensions of the bunion deformity by rotating the patient’s entire affected metatarsal bone back into normal alignment instead of just shaving the bone and pushing it over. The unstable joint is also permanently stabilized with patented titanium plating technology. This 3D approach to bunion correction naturally removes the bump and straightens the toe, while the patented Lapiplasty® titanium plating technology enables patients to bear weight on their foot within days.

Judy’s Lapiplasty® Procedure took place in June 2017 and, compared to the first surgery on her right foot, she experienced an accelerated recovery. She was able to put weight on her left foot the day following the operation, in a walking boot. She was able to move out of the boot after six weeks into normal, comfortable shoe wear; and was walking pain free at 2 months.

“The difference between my first bunion surgery and the Lapiplasty® Procedure was like night and day. I was happy with how quickly I was on my feet and fully recovered with the new approach,” Judy said.

And today, according to Judy, she is pain-free, no longer self-conscious with her appearance, and enjoys life with her friends and family. She is content with the knowledge that if the bunion on her right foot should reappear, she can address it with the newer, novel approach of Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction.

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"I couldn’t be happier with the Lapiplasty® Procedure and wish it was available all those years ago for my left foot."

Vivian K.

52-year old Columbus, Ohio resident Vivian is constantly on her feet. In addition to her full-time job cleaning houses, she also works part-time as a receptionist in a law firm. While this schedule can be grueling, Vivian’s bunions often made it agonizing as well.

When Vivian was in her late twenties, bunions formed on both of her feet and within a few years, the bunion on her left foot became incredibly painful. She described the pain as “like needles stabbing my foot” and, over time, the bunion progressed to the point that it was visible through her shoe. By the time she reached her mid-forties and barely being able to walk, she reached out to a local podiatrist.

The podiatrist recommended a traditional 2D osteotomy correction procedure, but did not adequately explain the lengthy recovery process involved. Desperate for pain relief, Vivian underwent the procedure, whereby the bump associated with her bunion was shaved off. Although she was pain-free following surgery, her toe was not straight and she was under strict orders not to put weight on her foot for two months. To cap it off, the bunion returned less than a year later.

Vivian K

Unfortunately, Vivian’s result from the traditional 2D osteotomy correction procedure mirrors clinical data collected which shows up to 70 percent of patients receiving an osteotomy are likely to have their bunion recur.1 And, one in three osteotomy patients end up dissatisfied with their surgical result.1

Although the bunion on her right foot was manageable for more than two decades, it worsened in severity and the acute pain that Vivian suffered from years before returned. Unwilling to suffer as she did with her left foot, she contacted her primary care physician who referred her to Dr. David Kaplansky in Columbus. After evaluating her condition, Dr. Kaplansky suggested Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™.

Unlike a traditional 2D osteotomy bunion surgery which focuses more on the cosmetic “bump”, Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ addresses the true root cause of bunions by permanently stabilizing the unstable joint at the base of the big toe and rotating the misaligned bone into normal alignment. The patented, metal plates used to permanently secure the unstable joint would allow her to put weight on her foot shortly after surgery.

Vivian underwent Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ in July 2018 and immediately noticed a few differences compared with her previous surgery. Not only was the toe was completely straight, Dr. Kaplansky gave her permission to put weight on her foot (while wearing a boot) less than two weeks after the procedure, allowing Vivian to quickly return to work. She began walking without the boot just six weeks after her procedure, and today is pain free.

“I couldn’t be happier with the Lapiplasty® Procedure and wish it was available all those years ago for my left foot,” said Vivian. “I spend much of my day on my feet and now I understand how much of an improvement the Lapiplasty® Procedure is over the old surgical method. I plan to have the bunion on my left foot corrected again; this time with Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™.”

1 Jeuken RM, et al. Foot Ankle Int. 2016. 37:687-95.

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you and what level of activity you can expect after healing is complete. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"It was amazing to have a normal looking foot without pain."

Carrie L.

For Carrie, a 68-year-old retiree in South Florida, bunions were a way of life, having developed on both of her feet decades ago. Although she spent approximately thirty years in discomfort, the pain was often intermittent and manageable. This was a stroke of good fortune given that Carrie worked in retail for her entire career and was constantly on her feet.

Because it was important to exhibit a certain style while on the job, Carrie often wore shoes that exacerbated the problem. Outside of work, she became increasingly self-conscious about her bunions’ unsightly appearance and frequently covered them up, even when she was at the pool or the beach. As the years went by, the bunion on Carrie’s right foot became more pronounced and problematic.

By April 2018, Carrie had had enough. Tired of the discomfort and ready to improve the appearance of her foot, she went online to Dr. Adam Katz’s website (a physician who previously treated her for a bout of plantar fasciitis) and noticed he was performing Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™. Intrigued, she immediately made an appointment to learn more.

The Lapiplasty® Procedure returns the entire metatarsal bone to its normal alignment and stabilizes the joint, naturally removing the bump and straightening the toe. Unlike a traditional 2D osteotomy bunion surgery which focuses more on the cosmetic “bump”, Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ addresses the true root cause of bunions by permanently stabilizing the unstable joint at the base of the big toe and rotating the misaligned bone into normal alignment. The patented, titanium metal plates used to permanently secure the unstable joint are designed to enable patients to get back on their feet quickly.

Carrie knew of other people who had had the traditional 2D osteotomy procedure in the past and their negative experiences had made her reluctant to move forward with bunion surgery. However, as Dr. Katz explained the differences between the two procedures, she felt much more at ease. A couple of weeks later, she decided to schedule the Lapiplasty® Procedure for her right foot, which took place in late May 2018.

Carrie began bearing weight on her foot approximately two weeks after the procedure and by mid-July was out of her walking boot and pain-free. Much to her delight, and for the first time in three decades, her right foot was straight.

“It was amazing to have a normal looking foot without pain,” said Carrie. “I am looking forward to finally wearing sandals again and am seriously considering having the bunion on my left foot corrected with Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™. After all, why should it be there if it doesn’t have to be?”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you and what level of activity you can expect after healing is complete. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"It enabled me to resume the activities that bring me joy."

Andrea A.

Sixty-one-year-old Fort Lauderdale resident Andrea developed bunions on both feet at a very early age. Her bunions were not initially painful, and Andrea was able to accommodate the bony bumps at the base of both of her big toes (which caused her feet to be irregularly shaped) by choosing to wear shoes with a wide toe box.

Andrea’s “sensible shoe” approach enabled her, in part, to manage any potential discomfort and she was able to enjoy a very active lifestyle which included exercising, walking outside, and riding her bicycle. In early 2017, however, the shape of her left big toe started to change – an indication that her bunion was getting worse. Andrea scheduled a visit with a podiatrist who elected to try non-surgical treatments. These provided only temporary relief. Corresponding with this timeframe, Andrea developed pain in her lower back which spread to her left knee and left hip within a few months.

As the year progressed, the pain in her back, knee and hip grew more pronounced and her walk became unsteady. Initially, Andrea suspected that her issues were caused by physical overexertion and didn’t connect it with her bunions. A consultation with a sports medicine doctor led to physical therapy but, once again, she experienced only temporary relief.

In December of 2017, the bunion on Andrea’s left foot became more painful, and coupled with the discomfort in the other parts of her body, she had no choice but to discontinue all the physical activities she enjoyed so much. Her physical condition even deteriorated to the point that she could not stand for long periods of time.

When the sports medicine doctor suggested she consult with another podiatrist, Andrea scheduled an appointment with Dr. Christopher Pappas at Holy Cross Hospital in Fort Lauderdale, who suggested surgical correction using Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™. Dr Pappas explained to Andrea that, unlike a traditional 2D osteotomy bunion surgery which focuses more on the cosmetic “bump”, the Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ procedure addresses the true root cause of bunions by permanently stabilizing the unstable joint at the base of the big toe and rotating the misaligned bone into normal alignment. Patented, metal plates are used to permanently secure that unstable joint and are designed to allow patients to put weight on their foot shortly after surgery. Desperate for relief, Andrea agreed to the procedure that day.

Andrea underwent Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ at the end of December 2017 and she was able to put weight on her foot with the assistance of a boot approximately two weeks after surgery. Very quickly after the procedure she noticed that her bunion no longer ached, and by the end of February 2018, her left big toe, back, knee and hip were completely pain-free. Not long after that, Andrea happily resumed her active lifestyle.

“I could not be more pleased with the Lapiplasty® Procedure because it enabled me to resume the activities that bring me joy,” said Andrea. “I am fortunate that the bunion on my right toe remains pain-free, but if it acts up, you better believe I will ask Dr. Pappas to correct it!”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you and what level of activity you can expect after healing is complete. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"You should see my before and after x-rays! You will not believe the difference!"

Kathie S.

Kathie, 69, of Columbia, South Carolina knew she needed to see a doctor after she was forced to cover her right foot with an entire box of bandages to try and alleviate the serious pain caused by a growing bunion and painful hammertoe. That incident happened while Kathie was visiting one of her 11 grandchildren who recently enrolled in a culinary university in Colorado. “My granddaughter wanted to show me her favorite shops and restaurants. I was so overjoyed with the invitation to come along, that the thought of missing a single moment was more unbearable than the pain in my foot,” she explained. So, Kathie did what she had done for years— she wore extra-wide shoes, iced her foot when she could, and pushed past the pain until she returned home. But, after that experience, she started looking into options for treatment.

Kathie’s first visit was to a doctor she had seen in the past for a torn ligament in the same foot. He recommended a traditional osteotomy approach to treat her bunion, which is a 2D procedure that would involve shaving her bone to remove the painful bump on her foot. He also told her that, on a scale of 1 to 10, her bunion was a 12 and among the worst he had seen. He told her there would be a high risk that her bunion could return over time should she opt for the 2D correction. “That just didn’t sit right with me,” Kathie explained. “I was already fearful of the surgery and hearing that my bunion could come back just made me immediately think – no way!” She decided to seek out another opinion from Dr. Daniel Methuselah at Columbia Podiatry.

Dr. Methuselah explained that a traditional 2D osteotomy does not fix the root cause of a bunion, which is an unstable joint in the middle of the foot. Instead, he suggested Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™. With this procedure, surgeons can correct all three dimensions of the deformity without the need to create an artificial break in a straight bone. Instead of cutting and shifting the bone, it can be rotated back into a natural, anatomic position again. Using patented titanium plates, surgeons permanently secure the previously unstable joint in place which can significantly reduce the chance of the bunion returning. Feeling encouraged, Kathie went home to conduct her own research before making a final decision.

She looked through the Treace Medical website www.AlignMyToe.com and read some of the patient reviews about Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™. She even found some helpful Facebook posts about the procedure. “There were several other women from all over the country who were struggling with the same kind of pain I was.” Kathie continued, “We had each heard horror stories about the long and painful recovery associated with traditional osteotomy bunion surgery.” Getting that support and additional perspective helped Kathie decide she was ready to move forward with the Lapiplasty® Procedure and get back to living her life without pain.

Kathie had her right foot corrected with the Lapiplasty® Procedure in January 2019 and was walking in a boot within just a few weeks. “I thought I would have been in severe pain for a long time, but that simply was not the case,” she explained. “I made sure to share my experience with the women I met on Facebook and many of them have since opted for the same procedure too.”
Happy with her results, Kathie continues to share her story with others who are struggling with bunion pain. “You should see my before and after x-rays! You will not believe the difference,” she likes to tell others. She now feels there is nothing holding her back from enjoying every moment to the absolute fullest with her husband and growing family.

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion and malunion.

"I was able to get back to some normal activities quickly."

Valerie L.

“When I was younger, I used to cry over the way my feet looked. It was embarrassing to wear sandals and the idea of getting a pedicure was almost out of the question,” relates Valerie, now a 40-year-old mother of two who suffered with bunions on both feet. “I dealt with the pain as best I could, but over time it began affecting many different parts of my day-to-day life.” As someone who is always on the move — transporting her children to school and activities, volunteering as a preschool aid, working weekends teaching at a language school — trouble walking and standing for long periods of time was a big problem. Hoping to one day return to teaching full time, she worried that the pain in her feet would prevent her from being able to keep up with her students. So, she decided to talk to her primary care doctor about treatment options for bunions during her annual physical.

“I told him I struggled to keep up with my kids and that my pain was extremely limiting,” says Valerie, explaining that, beyond affecting her daily routines, the severe pain in her feet prevented her from pursuing her passions for hiking and skiing. She had also begun to dread her yearly trips to Slovakia because of the significant physical toll traveling took on her body – whereas these had previously been a source of joy and excitement. Her doctor recommended that she see a specialist about surgical options and recommended Dr. Shane Hollawell at Orthopaedic Institute of Central Jersey who was using a new procedure called Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™.

Feeling hopeful for the first time in years, Valerie immediately went online to research the procedure. “The potential for a short recovery time stood out to me the most,” she said. “Anyone with kids and a job knows that you cannot afford to be down and unavailable for long.” She immediately made an appointment with Dr. Hollawell to see if she was a candidate for the procedure.

Dr. Hollawell took x-rays of Valerie’s feet and described how the Lapiplasty® Procedure would eliminate the bump on her foot and more importantly would address the true root cause of her bunions, an unstable joint in the middle of the foot. Using precision guides, Dr. Hollawell would correct all 3 dimensions of the deformity to return Valerie’s bones back into their natural position and then use special titanium plates to secure her unstable joint permanently, lowering the chance that her bunions would return. Valerie decided to move forward with surgery on her left foot first, where the bunion was more pronounced, and would then tackle the other foot.

“I was nervous going into surgery, but I was confident in Dr. Hollawell’s abilities and trusted that this procedure was the best option available,” Valerie said. She underwent surgery on her left foot in April 2018 and was walking on her own in a surgical boot in less than two weeks. She was so pleased with the results that she scheduled the same procedure for her right foot for January 2019 – and this time she was surprised to find herself walking in a boot within only a few days. “I could not believe it! I was able to get back to some normal activities quickly and was able to manage my pain with doses of Tylenol and Advil throughout the day.”

Valerie is overjoyed with her results and says that for the first time in decades she is no longer embarrassed about the appearance of her feet. Instead, she is looking forward to showing them off to her family in Slovakia during her next trip. Now that she can stand for long periods of time without pain, she has another goal she hopes to accomplish: “I’m working toward teaching full time again and feel empowered to be able to keep up with all the demands in the classroom and at home.”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"Within a few weeks I was up and walking again."

Francine B.

Francine constantly spends long hours on her feet. In between her work as a patient service representative at a pain clinic and a licensed phlebotomist, as well as, taking care of her many pets including two horses, two donkeys, three dogs and 12 chickens; she rarely finds time to relax. “I am constantly on the move,” said Francine, a 57-year-old Maine resident. “So, when the bunion on my left foot first started protruding, I simply ignored it. I felt like I did not have any other choice.” Francine bought wide shoes and special socks to separate her toes to try to ease the pain, but they provided limited comfort. Over the course of several years the pain worsened significantly and eventually became unbearable. That is when Francine decided to see a specialist to discuss her surgical options.

She was referred to Dr. Barry White from Portland Foot and Ankle who said that her bunion was one of the most severe cases he had ever seen. He recommended a new procedure that could restore Francine’s natural anatomy and potentially prevent her bunion from recurring. “I had lived in pain for so long that I liked the idea of a procedure that would give me comfort that I might never have to through this kind of agony again,” she said.

The Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ Procedure would address the underlying cause of Francine’s bunion by restoring her bone’s natural alignment then permanently securing the unstable joint in the foot that is the root of the problem. The Lapiplasty® Procedure could also potentially result in a faster recovery compared to traditional surgical methods, allowing Francine to get back to her work and animals quickly. Deciding that the proposed benefits of Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ made for an attractive treatment option, Francine booked her surgery for September 2018.

Following the procedure, she was able to return home immediately. “It hurt at first, there is no doubt. But, within about three days, I no longer felt like I needed to take any prescription pain medication. I just tried to stay off my foot and rest.” She added, “Being an extremely active person, any down time for me at all is a shock to the system physically and emotionally. Thankfully, my husband was there every step of the way and within a few weeks I was up and walking again.”

Francine is now back to her normal activities and likes to tell people how the procedure helped her. She also is extremely thankful to Dr. White for offering this treatment option and has since referred several of her friends who suffer from bunions to his office. “He was always upfront and honest with me every step of the way. I trusted his recommendation on Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™, and he was right,” she explained. “While recovery from any surgery might be difficult for a moment, it is always better than living a life in constant pain.”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"I wanted it fixed right the first time."

April D.

April suffered from bunion pain in both of her feet for nearly a decade. But, given her busy schedule taking care of two growing children, the idea of undergoing bunion correction surgery (which is often associated with a lengthy recovery) seemed impossible. “Between the kids’ school, extracurricular activities, my husband’s work schedule, and my own appointments – I didn’t have time to be off my feet. I just took Tylenol regularly and would avoid any shoe, heel, or winter boot that might pinch my toes,” the 47- year-old Texas resident explained. Shoe choices were difficult enough due to pain, but additionally, April also avoided wearing flip-flops or attending social settings where her bare feet would be on display, because she was also embarrassed by the appearance of her bunion. When the pain in her foot intensified – often so severe it would keep her up at night — eventually, her husband urged her to see a doctor to discuss surgical options.

“I went to a podiatrist who recommended a traditional 2D osteotomy, but I did not feel very comfortable with that doctor,” April said. She spoke with her friends about her struggle and learned that, surprisingly, many of them also once suffered from bunion pain. They recommended she speak with Dr. Thomas Pignetti at Advanced Foot Care in The Woodlands about a new technology he used which might aid in speeding the recovery process. Eager to learn more, April made an appointment.

Dr. Pignetti made April feel at ease from the very start of her appointment. He took time to explain what causes bunions and how he might return her feet to natural alignment. Dr. Pignetti recommended the Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ Procedure which would address the true root cause of her bunion; an unstable joint in the middle of her foot. The Lapiplasty® Procedure would return the entire metatarsal bone to natural alignment and secure the unstable joint permanently. He explained, traditional 2D bunion surgery focused more on correcting the cosmetic “bump” rather than targeting the root cause of a bunion, ensuring the bunion had a high chance of returning. “If I was going to have bunion surgery, I wanted the best chance I could have to not go through a second surgery. I cannot imagine having to undergo surgery again, if my bunion returned. I wanted it fixed right the first time.” April explained.

April underwent Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ on her right foot in September 2018, then returned to have her left foot treated in December 2018. In both cases, she was in and out of the hospital the same day, although her recovery experience was slightly different both times. “After my first surgery on the right foot, I tried to stay off it for about two weeks. I was being very cautious and was not quite sure what to expect.” She continued, “But, I felt like a seasoned veteran by the time we addressed the left foot. I was walking in a surgical boot only four days after surgery!”

April now reflects on the ten years she spent living in pain and wishes she would have acted sooner. “You hear these horror stories about people who had traditional bunion corrections, but I want people to know that this was not even close to the painful process I thought it would be.” Since her surgery, April has recommended Dr. Pignetti to others and says that for the first time in years she is looking forward to shedding her winter boots and sliding into a pair of flip-flops.

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"I am glad that I didn’t wait to have surgery."

Sara M

Nearly all women expect their bodies to change during pregnancy, but 27-year-old Iowa resident Sara Mulholland never imagined carrying her first child would lead to such severe pain in her feet. “In the past, I’ve dealt with ingrown toenails or calluses once in a while – but pregnancy seemed to change everything,” Sara said. She experienced swelling that made it difficult to find shoes that fit. Eventually, just walking or standing for long periods of time became extremely painful. Sara also noticed small bumps on the sides of both her feet that appeared to be growing larger. Believing these changes were due to increased hormones, she tried to relieve her pain with home remedies and over-the-counter options. “I tried creams, compression socks, bandages, slides with built in ice packs— if you can name it, I have tried it,” she related. Nothing seemed to work. When the severe pain in her feet continued, even after giving birth to her daughter, she knew it was time to see a doctor.

Sara had seen Dr. Paul Dayton at the Foot and Ankle Center of Iowa in the past and hoped he would be able to find a solution for her problem. “He immediately assessed that I had bunions.” She continued, “I had no idea that these small bumps on my feet were the cause of my severe pain.” Sara was familiar with bunions because her sister suffered from them in college and spent eight weeks on crutches following a painful surgery to correct them. With a new baby at home, Sara was not sure that surgery would be the best option. But before she could dismiss the idea, Dr. Dayton explained he was using a new type of surgical procedure that could potentially correct her bunion permanently with a faster recovery timeline compared to the type of surgery her sister had undergone.

He told her that bunions are progressive and most only worsen with time, leading to additional problems such as hammertoes, arthritis, etc. Instead of ignoring the issue, Dr. Dayton suggested correcting Sara’s bunions with a procedure called Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™. Unlike a traditional 2D osteotomy, this procedure would correct the bunion in all three dimensions and use special titanium plates to secure the joint— allowing patients to more quickly bear weight after surgery and designed to greatly reduce the risk of recurrence. Hoping to relieve her pain so that she could focus on her newborn, Sara decided to schedule surgeries to correct both feet.

Sara had her right foot corrected with the Lapiplasty® Procedure in August 2018, followed by the same surgery on her left foot in October. For the first three days following each surgery, Sara made sure to rest, ice, and elevate her foot and relied on crutches to get around the house. On the fourth day, she was shocked that her medical team handed her a surgical boot and said it was time to try walking. “I will never forget my hesitation in the doctor’s office as I prepared to put my foot in the boot and on the ground for the first time after surgery,” Sara said. “I kept asking the nurse if she was sure this was ok. However, I didn’t experience much pain and was able to stand and walk without an issue. Within about four weeks, I was back to wearing normal tennis shoes again.”

Enjoying her role as a new mom, Sara is looking forward to playing and interacting with her daughter without having to worry about pain or the appearance of her feet. “Everything seems like it will just be a little bit easier now,” she explained. “I am glad that I didn’t wait to have surgery and I look forward to getting back to work and enjoying long walks to the park with my growing family.”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"I think I was most surprised that I was able to walk so soon and put pressure on my foot again without much pain"

Thomas G.

Thomas, a 58-year old Melbourne, Florida resident, could not walk more than a few hundred feet without experiencing burning pain. A bunion had formed on his left foot nearly five years ago and, over time, became unbearably painful. “It got to the point where my foot was on my mind from the moment I woke up to the moment I went to bed. It really began impacting the way I approached my job and hobbies,” Thomas admitted. As a self-employed forensic consultant responsible for investigating facilities insurance claims, it was essential that he remain on his feet for hours at a time. In some cases, the strain of a long workday meant that he could not participate in the hobbies he most enjoyed, including volunteering for the oceanography institute and acting in community theatre productions.

Thomas reached his tipping point when he was unable to join in hiking trips while visiting friends in Arizona. He returned home and contacted a local podiatrist who suggested traditional bunion correction surgery. But after researching that approach online and reading about patients who had experienced a recurrence after surgery, he decided to cancel the procedure and seek another option. He eventually stumbled upon the Treace Medical Concepts website and became immediately interested in Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™.

Traditional bunion surgery focuses on addressing the cosmetic “bump” associated with a bunion – it is shaved away in a surgical procedure but does nothing to address the cause of the problem. In his research, Thomas learned that the Lapiplasty® Procedure addresses the true root cause of bunions by permanently stabilizing the joint at the base of the big toe and rotating the bone back into normal three-dimensional alignment. Titanium plates are used to secure the unstable joint, allowing patients to put weight on their foot shortly after surgery.

Thomas explained, “As a mechanical engineer, I was encouraged by the precision this technology provided the surgeon. However, even without my background, this option just seemed like common sense medicine to me. I wanted the problem fixed completely and correctly the first time— who wouldn’t?”

Using the online surgeon locator on Treace’s website, Thomas reached out to Dr. Paul Dayton with the Foot and Ankle Center of Iowa and scheduled his surgery. After the procedure, he rested in a nearby hotel for about three days and relied simply on Ibuprofen instead of prescription drugs for pain relief. Within about five days, Thomas was back at home and walking comfortably in a boot. “I think I was most surprised that I was able to walk so soon and put pressure on my foot again without much pain,” Thomas said. “I was eager to get back to my home in Florida and return to living a more active and pain-free life.”

Months later, Thomas revealed he became emotional while walking along the uneven Florida beaches without pain. “All of a sudden, I realized I wasn’t thinking about my foot. In fact, I had gone days without thinking about it at all! That had not happened in years. It was in that moment that I realized I was going to be okay and that my long painful struggle with my bunion had finally ended.”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"I was very happy that the recovery time seemed shorter."

Patricia C.

Juggling five grandchildren and five additional great-grandchildren does not leave 68-year old Scarborough, Maine resident Patricia with a lot of downtime. “We are a close family and are constantly on the move,” she said. “But bunion pain experienced in both my feet certainly slowed me down. And, it was frustrating to not be able to keep up as much as I would have liked.” Patricia tried wearing more comfortable shoes, orthotic inserts, and (in some cases) a protective boot just so that she could keep up with the demands of her large and still growing family. Even so, she regularly struggled to rise from a seated position and could no longer enjoy family outings around town without suffering. Unable to stand to see her in such pain, Patricia’s loved ones eventually convinced her to talk to a doctor about her surgical options.

While Patricia suffered with bunion pain in both feet, her left foot was more bothersome. She met with specialist Dr. Barry White with Portland Foot and Ankle and decided to undergo a traditional bunion surgery only on that foot. “I remember the recovery took about three months and it was very difficult to get around using a scooter,” said Patricia. “The worst part was, as soon as I started feeling better with the left foot, my right foot started bothering me even more!” Although she did not want to go through another painful surgery and lengthy recovery, Patricia knew something needed to be done.

Dr. White understood Patricia’s concerns regarding a lengthy recovery and explained that he had recently learned of a new treatment option that might give her a better experience. Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ was a procedure he now used to address the true root cause of bunions, but more importantly, it was designed to provide a faster recovery timeline than the previous surgical technique. In addition to a faster recovery, the Lapiplasty® Procedure also offers a three-dimensional approach to bunion correction by rotating the misaligned bone back into proper alignment, unlike older-generation 2D surgical treatments that merely shave down protruding bone. “I was sold as soon as he said that this procedure may allow me to get back on my feet faster,” Patricia said. “It had been frustrating previously to be forced to sit and watch my grandkids and not be able to interact with them. I hoped this option would give me a faster recovery timeline than my previous surgery.”

Patricia had the Lapiplasty® Procedure on her right foot in October 2018 and was walking in a boot less than two weeks later. This was a far different experience from her first surgery, where she had been confined to a cast for several months. “I was very happy that the recovery time seemed shorter. I tried to take it easy the first few weeks and after using the boot was able to transition to just a brace.” In addition to a shorter recovery, Patricia says she was able to stop taking prescription pain medication three days after surgery and managed her discomfort with a simple dose of Advil® each night.

Before surgery, Patricia says she was getting through life with gritted teeth— working through the pain instead of truly addressing it. Now, with summer coming, she looks forward to keeping up with her entire family and once again enjoying long walks along the coastal Maine beaches.

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

Advil® is a registered mark of Pfizer.
“As someone who works in the field of orthopedics, I had a good sense of how the Lapiplasty® Procedure differed from conventional bunion surgery, in that, Lapiplasty® corrects the problem in all three dimensions.”

Sandy S.

Sandy, a 50-year old medical sales representative from South Carolina, has lived with bunions on both feet for as long as she could remember. Her occupation required her to dress formally but, by the time she reached her late 30’s, the discomfort caused by the bunions forced her to stop wearing tight, high-heeled footwear.

Since 2005, Sandy has specialized in selling products to podiatrists and had become friendly with many of them. In 2008, she consulted with a podiatrist in Chicago, where she lived at the time, about possibly having them treated but ultimately decided against surgical correction. Over the next decade, the pain worsened and the deformities on both feet became more severe. Still, she elected to wait to have surgery since she had heard negative stories from friends and families.

By 2016, Sandy had reached her tipping point. She was attending church, wearing the most comfortable footwear she owned, when she had to remove both shoes to rub her bunions for relief. She knew then that it was time to look into a permanent fix.

A physician in her area suggested Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction. And, when she found herself stationed next to Treace Medical (who developed the Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction procedure) at an industry trade show in early 2017, she decided to explore the procedure.

After researching physicians who performed the Lapiplasty® Procedure in her area, Sandy scheduled a visit with Dr. Bret Smith in Lexington, S.C. Dr. Smith was one of the surgeons involved in the design of the Lapiplasty® Procedure. Dr. Smith believed Sandy was a good candidate for the procedure and she underwent surgery on her right foot in February 2017. Encouraged by that procedure, she returned again in November 2017 to have her left foot treated.

Just days following both of her surgeries, Sandy was able to put weight on the affected feet while wearing a walking boot. And, in just five weeks after her surgeries, she was back to walking in tennis shoes. Today, Sandy can wear many of the shoes she had to give up because of her bunions. She is fully functional and has conversations with many of her podiatrist customers about her experience with Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction.

“As someone who works in the field of orthopedics, I had a good sense of how the Lapiplasty® Procedure differed from conventional bunion surgery, in that, Lapiplasty® corrects the problem in all three dimensions,” said Sandy. “I couldn’t be happier with the outcome.”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"I’m very happy with the procedure, so much so that I’ve already scheduled the Lapiplasty® Procedure on my right foot!"

Danita H.

West Virginia resident Danita, a 58-year-old banking consultant, developed a bunion on her right foot in her early 30’s and one on her left foot less than a decade later. At first, the discomfort associated with each bunion was tolerable, but over time, it became more severe.

As the years went by, the bunions grew and rubbed against the inside of her shoes, making it very painful to walk. She saw a podiatrist once or twice a year, who debrided the calluses and shaved them in an effort to reduce the pain, but it was always a temporary fix. Danita inquired about surgical correction, using the traditional 2D method, but after her podiatrist warned her about the very long recovery time, she decided to hold off, not wanting to take extended time off work.

By the time Danita reached her mid-to-late fifties, she was in agony walking. Fortunately, in December 2017, she was listening to the radio and heard Dr. Robert Santrock, a foot and ankle surgeon in nearby Morgantown, discuss Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction. Encouraged by what she heard, she researched the procedure online and e-mailed Dr. Santrock’s office for an appointment. A few weeks later, she was in his office.

Danita’s research mirrored what she heard Dr. Santrock speak about on the radio: that the Lapiplasty® procedure returns the entire metatarsal bone to its normal alignment and stabilizes the joint, naturally removing the bump and straightening the toe. Unlike a traditional 2D osteotomy bunion surgery which focuses more on the cosmetic “bump”, Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction addresses the true root cause of bunions by permanently stabilizing the unstable joint at the base of the big toe and rotating the misaligned bone back into normal alignment. The patented, metal plates used to permanently secure the unstable joint would allow her to put weight on her foot very soon after surgery.

Danita underwent the Lapiplasty® Procedure on her left foot on April 4, 2018 and, after being fitted with a walking boot, Dr. Santrock allowed her to put weight on her foot later that day. Per Dr. Santrock’s instructions, she wore the boot for six weeks but was feeling good enough to return to work after just two weeks.

Today, nine weeks after her surgery, Danita is back walking in comfortable shoes and, with each passing week, she notices progression in her recovery.

“I took off the walking boot a few days after my surgery to look at my toe and knew then that I made the right decision.” said Danita. “I’m very happy with the procedure, so much so that I’ve already scheduled the Lapiplasty® Procedure on my right foot!”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction is right for you and what level of activity you can expect after healing is complete. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"After suffering from bunions for over 30 years, my feet are finally straight and I am starting to wear comfortable shoes again."

Penny G.

Penny, a 59-year-old resident of Long Island, N.Y, has lived with bunions on both of her feet since her twenties. Over the years, Penny experienced some discomfort as many people with bunions do but, additionally she became truly dissatisfied with the way her feet looked. She was unable to wear heels any longer and finding shoes that would comfortably accommodate the wideness of her foot was often a struggle.

After living with bunions for more than 30 years, Penny began to consider a surgical correction and scheduled a consultation with a podiatrist at City Podiatry in New York City. He determined that she would be a perfect candidate for Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ and referred her to his colleague Dr. Richard Goldstein, one of the first podiatrists in the area to perform the procedure. After watching an educational video on the Lapiplasty® Procedure and motivated to have more “normal-looking” feet, Penny decided to move forward.

The Lapiplasty® Procedure returns the entire metatarsal bone to its normal alignment and stabilizes the joint, naturally removing the bump and straightening the toe. Unlike a traditional 2D osteotomy bunion surgery which focuses more on the cosmetic “bump”, Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ addresses the true root cause of bunions by permanently stabilizing the unstable joint at the base of the big toe and rotating the misaligned bone into normal alignment. The patented, titanium metal plates used to permanently secure the unstable joint are designed to allow patients to put weight on their foot shortly after surgery.

In April 2017, the bunion on Penny’s right foot was corrected with the Lapiplasty® Procedure and she was immediately pleased with her foot’s return to a normal shape. Following the surgery, she was off her foot for a little over two weeks and spent the next month in a walking boot. Comfortable with the relative ease of the procedure and the recovery, Penny had her left bunion corrected in April 2018 and experienced a similar recovery timetable. Today, she is comfortable and likes the appearance of her feet again.

“After suffering from bunions for over 30 years, my feet are finally straight and I am starting to wear comfortable shoes again,” said Penny. “I am a big fan of Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ and have recommended the procedure to others who have had bunion corrections in the past and were not happy with the outcome. I couldn’t be happier.”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you and what level of activity you can expect after healing is complete. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

"After being in pain for thirty-five years, it is incredible to slide into a pair of sneakers without worry."

Jennifer

Jennifer, a 45-year-old contract administrator living in Boynton Beach, Fla., has never known life without bunions. They formed on both feet in her early years and she remembered wondering why – at age 10 – her feet looked “weird and funky.” While the bunions were unsightly to look at, they did not become problematic until several years later.

As a teenager, Jennifer found herself unable to wear certain shoes and even in her most comfortable footwear she often placed cotton balls over the bunions for extra protection. As she entered her twenties, Jennifer couldn’t wait to take her shoes off at the end of each day and grew increasingly uncomfortable with the appearance of her feet.

In 2000, having lived with the discomfort for more than a decade, Jennifer decided to have her left bunion corrected by a surgeon in New York, where she lived at the time. Her intention was to eventually have the bunion on her right foot corrected as well, but the first procedure left her in constant pain and unable to sleep for months on end. She was also unable to put weight on her foot for three months after surgery and her opinion of her recovery, overall, was that it was a brutal and lengthy process.

By late 2017, Jennifer had relocated to Florida and the bunion on her right foot had grown progressively worse in both discomfort and appearance. Not willing to suffer any longer, Jennifer decided to take action and she was referred to Dr. Christopher Pappas, one of the few podiatrists in the area performing the newly patented Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ procedure.

The Lapiplasty® Procedure returns the entire metatarsal bone to its normal alignment and stabilizes the joint, naturally removing the bump and straightening the toe. Unlike a traditional 2D osteotomy bunion surgery which focuses more on the cosmetic “bump”, Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ addresses the true root cause of bunions by permanently stabilizing the unstable joint at the base of the big toe and rotating the misaligned bone into normal alignment. The small metal plates used to permanently secure the unstable joint are designed to allow patients to put weight on their foot shortly after surgery.

Dr. Pappas explained Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ in detail during Jennifer’s initial visit. She was encouraged by what she heard and she scheduled surgery that day. In June 2018, the bunion on her right foot was corrected in all three planes (this time) and Jennifer immediately felt that she made the right decision. Instead of spending three months in a cast, as she did with her first bunion surgery, she was able to put limited weight on her foot after just two weeks using a walking boot. Four weeks after that, she was able to discard her walking boot and move into comfortable shoe wear such as sneakers.

Today, Jennifer is without bunion pain for the first time in decades, and she notes that her right foot, recently corrected with the Lapiplasty® Procedure, appears straighter than her left one.

“After being in pain for thirty-five years, it is incredible to slide into a pair of sneakers without worry,” said Jennifer. “I cannot believe how much better the Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is over the procedure I had in 2000. As I continue in my recovery, I am looking forward to getting back into open toed shoes. I couldn’t be happier.”

Only a surgeon can tell if Lapiplasty® 3D Bunion Correction™ is right for you and what level of activity you can expect after healing is complete. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary and this experience is unique and specific to this patient only. There are potential risks with surgery and recovery takes time. Potential risks include, but are not limited to: infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.

Important Risk Information: Only a surgeon can tell if the Lapiplasty® Procedure is right for you. As with any medical treatment, individual results may vary. There are potential risks and recovery takes time. Potential risks include but are not limited to infection, discomfort from the presence of the implant, loosening of the implant, and loss of correction with nonunion or malunion.